I'm New To CarersUK

I’ve been caring for my 92 year old Mum for the last 20 months or so since my Dad passed away. My younger sister and eldest Neice share the caring duties as far as they are able, but I am retired and consequently take the lions share. One of us stays over every night on a rota basis, and watch over her for the vast majority of the daytime.
I’m looking to introduce external carers to ease the situation as it is taking it’s toll on my marriage. My husband has a number of physical health issues, and is also quite fragile mentally. I would really appreciate some help and advice as to how best to discuss this with Mum, as I fear that she will feel hurt and upset.

Mum is now a very great age, and with that it is inevitable that she needs a lot of care, more than family can now provide. You are not as young as you used to be either!

It is NOT up to mum to say who cares for you. It is up to you to decide how much, if any, care, you can provide for her, when your husband should be your top priority.

Start by having a family conference without mum, when you can all talk honestly about the impact caring is having on all of you.

Please can you tell us how much care mum needs?
Why does she need someone with her overnight?
In some circumstances, the NHS will provide care free of charge?

Does mum own or rent her property?
Have over £23,000 in savings?
Claim Attendance Allowance?
Do you have Power of Atttorney?

Hello and welcome!

Please tell us more about your cared for person. What is the nature of their impairment? Is it a physical or cognitive issue?

Hi bowlingbun
Apologies, I’m so new to all this I’ve only just seen your response!
Thank you for taking the time to engage with me.
Mum needs help through the day with meal preparation, shopping and cleaning etc