I’m scared about having to give up my future to care for dad

Hi,

Last year my dad suffered from a Traumatic brain injury and is now living in a care home away from home being looked after. He’s really quite brain damaged but they expect to send him home in the next year. I’m in my 2nd year at uni and I used to be so excited about my future and all the travel plans I had, but I feel that I’ll now have to give that up to stay at home with my mum to help care for my dad. I don’t think she’d manage on her own. I don’t know what kind of support she will have or if he’s able to stay in a home permanently, but I feel so guilty to even think this way, but I know my mum would be happier to as she’d have her own life. I obviously love my dad and want to help him but I also don’t want to give up my future. I wanted to eventually move out of my home city as I’ve never lived anywhere else, and I wanted to travel when I graduate but I just can’t imagine leaving my mum. I have two brothers; one of them is close by and he’s been amazing as supporting my mum this past year, the other lives far away and is pretty absent. I don’t want to rely on my nearby brother to support my mum as he already has a career and a life, so I feel like he’d be giving up more.

I’m not quite sure what kind of replies I’m wanting but if anyone else has gone through this I’d love some advice. I can’t stop stressing about it and I can’t be excited for my future anymore.

Thank you for any advice :slight_smile:

You’re under no obligation to provide care for anyone, no matter what your relationship.

Obviously your Mum would be happier for you to help, but surely not at the cost of your future - there’s a lot of it still to come.

If your Mum can’t manage on her own, the same rules apply as in my first sentence and Social Services will have to work something out.

Be warned, you cannot trust S/S to do what is best for your Dad and the rest of his family, only what is best for S/S.