I am new here - advice and support needed please

Hi everyone new here and looking for some advice/support. Never really classed myself as an unpaid carer but I have realised I am recently more so. I feel like I look after everyone but me! Not one to discuss usually but lately finding it a struggle. I have a little boy who is nearly 2 and my mam has rheumatoid arthritis which is recently becoming more of an issue as her mobility is decreasing and also worried about her memory keeps leaving gas on etc on Friday we were told she has to have a double knee replacement and I’m concerned about her obviously but also what that means for me and my work, parenting and future as I will be the one to care for her. Does anyone have any pointers as I say I’m new to all of this and have never accessed any support in the past we’ve just got on with it together

1 Like

Hi @ClairemColl welcome to the forum and the right place. There are plenty of people to help with advice. I would contact carers helpline so Contact us | Carers UK
They are very helpful and put you in touch with the right person. I would speak to the GP and raise your concerns if you can but also try social services and see if they can help.

1 Like