How to make ends meet?

I’m considering leaving fulltime work to care for my elderly mother and father after many months struggling whilst in work. I’m currently applying for attendance allowance for my dad, realising carer’s benefit is dependant upon this. Using the entitledto calculator, assuming attendance allowance is granted, the maximum benefit I may be entitled to is £121.76 per week. There seems to be bias against those with a mortgage as you can’t claim anything towards this. I knew it wasn’t going to be easy but the numbers just don’t add up. Making some cutbacks, benefits are only going to cover around 50% of my living expenses.

I’m fairly new to this so maybe I’m missing something. Everyone’s situation is different but unfortunately I don’t have any additional income and would be fully reliant upon benefits. Being a carer on benefits helps the state save money but this is crazy. I don’t see how I can live (very frugally) unless my parents pitch in significantly just to cover bills.

When resigning (voluntarily) from full time work to care, can this affect and delay benefits? When you just want to care for your mum and dad, the financial bombshell really makes it all the more problematic!

Any advice would be much appreciated.

Hi Wayne.

When considering half the carer army … 7.8 million in total … are below / at / close to the
Official Poverty Line , you’ll not be alone.

Mortgage interest ?

Now a loan under the new scheme :
https://www.carersuk.org/forum/support-and-advice/carer-disability-benefits/mortgage-interest-to-be-a-loan-under-uc-31190?hilit=mortgage%20interest

As Carers Allowance is not means tested , no problem in claiming now contingent on Attendance Allowance being granted
to your father.

Cutbacks to beyond the bone / potential downsizing ?

All part of the daily struggle low millions of us endure.

Took me just under 19 years to get back to where I was financially before becoming a carer … 10 year stretch followed