Hi to you all, I am a newbie

So, a little about me …I am recently retired practitioner nurse caring for my 37 year old son who is in end stage heart failure. He was rejected for heart transplant and given 6-18 months to live. He is still alive but not kicking so much these days . Its been about 5 years since he passed his sell by date - he jokes about sending his ex transplant surgeon a card every Christmas! We get by with black humour mostly. He was evicted from Hospice care, which was ironic , and because I am or was until recently a health professional his heart failure nurse also signed him off from her list. His GP is very clever at medicine and practice management but definitely lacks time and pastoral skills. He never contacts either of us . I feel very alone in all of this. I try to keep positive , take him out and about for a spontaneous trip when he is up to it but neither of us trouble our friends with the deep stuff that really counts. He has some far flung friends, lately managing their professional lives and young children , thank goodness for social media. His wife packed her car and left shortly after he was discharged from the heart transplant unit so here we are. Just getting along as best we can. Phew…that was somewhat of an unburdening. I don’t have much energy to be supportive to others; at the moment, after 49 years of nursing I am still quite burned out and now in my own caring role . Those of you in a similar situation will understand that selfish sounding statement. Covid has made this worse for us , its so sad to see him so anxious about going out, and with his time ebbing away there has been a cruel cessation of the few things left that he can enjoy, a museum, theatre, comedy gig , a pizza out in a restaurant. Take care all of you . Chin up etc

Hello Mandy