Help needed Carers Direct Payment

Hi all.

I have been caring for my mum for many years. The only help I get is the Carers Direct one off Payment, which gets paid into a dedicated bank account. This payment ran out in December 2019. I contacted my Local Authority in January for the usual yearly carers assessment, and I had an assessment over the phone which took 45 minutes. She advised she will put the assessment to the board and it will take a few weeks, Having not heard anything I contacted the authority and all went crazy. I received a call from a social worker who advised there was no record of my assessment and that carers DP were changing. I was confused and asked her to explain.

She said for me to check the LA website for info and I said I was checking as we spoke and nothing was different and that it said Carers can get a one off payment after they have an assessment of their needs. She said well that’s not the case now! she said now my mum will be financially assessed and that is the only way it is done now?? she said mum will be financially assessed and based on that, she may (she gets Attendance Allowance) have to pay towards it, if not all of it. Id never heard of this.

I then asked her to explain as I was getting upset and she wasn’t very clear about it and became quite unhappy with me. Later I called the same number I had called in the beginning, and someone else advised my assessment was in fact on the system and that it was given to the board but because it wasn’t done in the new way it couldn’t go forward, She too could not be clear with me. The other social worker then called me back trying to arrange for a social worked to come over and go through an assessment again and wanting all of my mums finance papers and detailed incomings etc.