Hello from Portchester

Hello,
My name is Phil.
I’ve been caring for my Wife for some 20 years. She was diagnosed with a condition called Transverse Myelitis which is a neurological problem. The nerves in the spine are damaged which affects various mobility functions one of which is the ability of walking.
As time has gone on and in the past year she has become at the stage where she cannot stand without a stand aid. I have to transfer her from chair to commode and back again and also into bed.
We have carers coming in the mornings which is a great help but the rest of the time it is me, 24x7
Just recently I have started to feel very isolated and trapped. :frowning: This is not what we wanted when I retired back in 2015. We were active and I loved the interaction with people whether I knew them or not. Now I see nobody and my frustration is rubbing off onto my Wife.
Thank you for listening.

Hi Phil, welcome to the forum from a sunny New Forest. I know Portchester well, my late sister in law live in Castle Grove.

I have been a carer ever since my son was brain damaged at birth, mum was virtually housebound since about 1976. I used to be good at juggling everyone’s competing needs, but then as they got older, so did I. What I could do easily became so much more difficult, then I had major surgery and everything changed forever.

Mum has now passed away, and my son lives in his own flat a few miles away, but HCC still dump all sorts of jobs on me, which I’m now challenging with a solicitor!

Tiredness is my biggest enemy. It’s really important to have help, and take regular breaks.
When did you last have a Carers Assessment?