New member here (2)

Hi my names Chris I have been caring for my wife for 26 years. She is in an electric wheelchair I had to give up work 8 years ago as her problems got worse. We have a 25 year old son who still lives at home with his gf. Small house wheelchair, grown up kids two dogs, my only peace is when Enders is on and I put on earphones listen to music and tap away on my laptop.

I lost my best mate before christmas we had been friends for 50 years mutual support through good and bad times and now I feel so alone at times. We have lived in Dorset for 26 years but at times I am still seen as an outsider. Which has made me withdrawn a bit.

So I knew there are forums for everything from Twitching to Collecting Pants and thought there must be one for people in my situation so here I am

Hi Chris

I am so sorry you have recently lost your best friend - that must be so difficult for you.

I have been caring for nearly as long as you. Different in that I am a parent carer.

Same difficulties in that it’s so hard to get breaks, and the social isolation.

Has your wife had a needs assessment from social services. I am wondering if they would be able to provide some care at home to enable you to have a regular break out of the house.

If you had this do you have any old hobbies that you would like to get back into? Something where you could meet other people?

Hello and welcome!

Do you have any hobbies or not? Me time is essential. Even if it is half a day spent shopping for interior paints, or pursuing a hobby it still counts. Find opportunities to have some.

Hello Chris