Hello, first post

Hi, I’m caring for my 98 year old grandad. I’m 33. He’s a wonderful person and I love him a lot but everyone in my family knows he’s very difficult to deal with. He’s become very irritable and angry in his old age. I tried to tell him that he upset me once (because I tried to explain to him how he could go to bed safely so he won’t fall and he got very angry then threw his hearing aid away refusing to listen) and he started shouting saying I was making things up and trying to hurt him. I’m now in a situation where he can treat me however he wants and if I ever say how I feel he’ll get angry and things will get much worse. I’m living with a 98 year old child who has tantrums when he doesn’t get his own way. There’s no one around me I can talk to about what’s happening, I feel powerless and very isolated. I’ve never done any care work before and feel like I’m not doing good enough- there’s always something else that I need to do and I’m always behind. I’m afraid of leaving the house in case I bring the virus back so I don’t have a social life. I like to go for walks but I don’t really do that anymore because my grandad worries and makes me feel extremely guilty for leaving the house. How he treats me makes me not love him sometimes and I feel like an awful grandson then. I’m sorry for writing so much.

Welcome to the forum. Grandad is clearly suffering from age related mental issues.
I hope we can help, but a bit more info would be helpful.
Why are you doing this, not your parents?
Does grandad own or rent his home?
Does he have over £23,000 in savings? (Yes/No)
Does anyone have power of attorney for him?

Given a free choice, what would you like to happen next?

Hi careruk578,

Welcome to the forum!