Finding accommodation

Hi everyone,

I have been caring for my mother since I was 8 (I am now in my mid 20s) and i have been under a lot of stress and strain. I wish to continue looking after my mother but i cannot remain living with her. We’ve been arguing a lot lately and i just need my own space and privacy. Does anyone know of how i can go about finding my own accommodation that is near her, given i have no income of my own and i am still a student. Any help/advice you can give would be greatly appreciated.

J

Hi Jas.

In short … no reddies , no accomodation !

Having said that … SHELTER springs to mind … especially if you are " Homeless. "

https://www.shelter.org.uk/

Housing Benefit … may be an avenue to explore … strongly recommend balancing the local
Housing Allowance against the rents in the private sector … how big is the gap ???

Housing Benefit … full sp :
Housing Benefit: Eligibility - GOV.UK

Housing Allowance … extract from another posting of mine :

SHELTER
What is local housing allowance (LHA)?

Local housing allowance (LHA) is used to work out how much housing benefit you can get if you rent your home from a private landlord.

If you rent from a council or housing association or have a shared ownership home, different rules are used to calculate your housing benefit.

LHA has many of the same rules as housing benefit, but there are some extra rules that limit the amount of help you can get for a private rented home.

LHA is usually paid direct to you rather than to your landlord.

LHA online calculator for the curious amongst you … try it on your manor … then have a look at what’s available to let :

Search for Local Housing Allowance rates by postcode or local authority : DirectGov - LHA Rates

Your LA may be another avenue … apply to be entered on their waiting list for " Suitable accommodation "
… some lists are more than a decade long … one London LA nearer twenty years !