Financial assessment

Here’s a question that has possibly been answered before but I can’t find the answer…
Regarding income for a financial assessment for my wife who’s savings are considerably lower than £23000,would my private pension be taken into consideration even though it’s in my name ?

No. The rules are clear. It is YOUR choice as to whether it is done jointly, or individually, not the choice of Social Services!!!

Thanks Bowlingbun, that’s reassuring to know :slight_smile:

Never EVER believe what a social worker tells you about financial assessments!!

I reclaimed £8,000 from Hampshire on mum’s behalf when they didn’t apply the rules properly after she moved into residential care, but only after I attended an incredibly hostile meeting in Winchester, to meet the Social Work Area Manager and his line Manager.
I have 40 years accounting experience, studied Contract Law at degree level, I wasn’t going to let them bully me, even so it was not an experience I’d wish to repeat.
Every time I opened my mouth to give my version of events, the senior manager interrupted me.
After the fourth time, I stood up and said there was no point in me staying if she continued with this behaviour.
She was stunned, not used to being stood up to like that!

Proper financial assessments in Hampshire are not done by social workers, but from the Financial Assessment staff.
Usually by a Visiting Officer, they have their own areas and so it was usually the same person for both my mum and my son.
They have always been very good (not often I praise HCC!) but these staff understand the rules, bank statements, etc.
I’ve dealt with them both with mum’s domiciliary care, before she went into residential care.
My son with learning difficulties also has assessments every few years.

My top tip would be to do your homework in advance of any visit.
Ask in advance of a visit what information they want.
Take copies in advance of their visit of everything requested, bank statements etc.