Feeling down

My name is Carol, I am new to this,but I would like to see if there is anyone can give advice,I am 57 yrs old and gave my job up 2 years ago to care for my mum who has Parkinson’s ,I suffer from anxiety and depression and I am finding it difficult lately .I am losing the will to be active in society,my marriage is suffering and I feel like I don’t want to be here sometimes.I love my mum and will be there for her till the end, but I worry so much what will happen to me when she dies.I over think things constantly and do not sleep at night which is a problem in itself, my mother is as stubborn as they come,but I pitty her as she is stuck in the house day in and day out.her husband passed away 2 yrs ago .she cannot walk propperly and I spend 10 hrs a day with her.I don’t know what will happen when she loses the ability to walk,it’s a constant worry,

Hi Carol
There’s never many of us about this late, we all get exhausted!
I’m sorry to hear you are feeling this way. They are common feelings among carers.
I do have to go to bed myself now but here’s a link to thread of some mood lifters put together by the posters on here over the year’s.

I’m sure more people will be along to say hi and give advice tomorrow
https://www.carersuk.org/forum/support-and-advice/carers-health-issues/positive-ways-to-cope-with-low-mood-12505

Kr
MrsA

Hi Carol,

Your role as far as mum is concerned needs to change. Stop trying to do everything yourself, and look after yourself and your marriage too. Try to think of yourself as mum’s organiser, not providing all the care yourself, but arranging care for her that is suitable.

First step is to arrange a Needs Assessment from Social Services, and a Carers Assessment for you.
Is she claiming Attendance Allowance?

Why is she stuck indoors all day?

I am also a full tie carer for my mum. She is unable to walk (arthritis in her knees) and needs 2 carers four times a day to hoist her on to a commode, onto her chair, back to bed, etc