Confusion or Dementia

I’m taking my dad (80) to his GP on Thursday morning. I do not know if his general confusion has, or is, developing into dementia. Most likely vascular dementia on account if he has has 2 strokes. ( I’m a nurse)

He’s become quite controlling to my mum (83). Aggressive verbally and unable to do simple things without problems like banking. ( I don’t believe he would be physically aggressive- yet ) Also he can still do things like connect his iPad to the printer. It’s difficult as the strokes left him with some aphasia so he can’t do things with dates or numbers anyway. He forgets recent things like he had his covid booster ( which we could all do I guess at 85- but I think it’s more)

I’m an only child and getting him to the Doctor on Thursday is really stressing me incase he decides not to go. I’ve explained all this to the Dr who knows he has to ask my dad about his alcohol intake ( way too much) and stop him driving …. My dad is going to know I’ve told the GP this. I’ve told my dad I need to get him checked out and his bloods tested to see if we can understand ‘his unsteadiness’ and brain ‘fog’ he has, that is making him forget things. I am focusing on the physical issues to get him there but as soon as the GP starts asking him questions like ‘ who is the Prime Minister’ he’ll know …… he’s forgotten twice the appointment is made! He’s not happy about it.

Any advice anyone? :cry:

I was nearly killed in a car accident, lifelong after effects.
I’m dismayed to think that he’s so confused but still driving.

Well, I’d suggest that you tell him there’ll be some questions to see what’s happening with the brain “fog.” Hopefully that will cover it.