Very recent bereavement

Hello,
Im not sure I’ve chosen the correct topic as I’m not very experienced with forums.
I’ve cared for my mum for around 25 years, although more recently since 2019 she has been in a care home.
Emotionally I’ve really struggled with the caring responsibilities to the point where I’ve thought I’m not sure I can keep up with this.
I’ve now sadly lost my mum following a stroke. It’s early days and I know I’m grieving, but I can’t shake some of these feelings.
Following the stroke she was in what the doctors described as semi consciousness. It was a brainstem stroke of which she wouldn’t recover. But I’m now thinking should I have fought more for her. Instead she was on end of life care for just over a week.
I just feel empty and full of guilt.

1 Like

Grief and guilt seem to go hand in hand. If only I had …perhaps…
After my husband died suddenly at 58 from a massive heart attack, these thoughts went round and round and round, but eventually I accepted that nothing I had done would have made any difference.
Caring is very stressful, and it will seem even more stressful now it’s over for a while. Look after yourself, gentle walks, early nights, and learning to relax again will be important in the next few weeks.

1 Like

You are in my prayers. Perhaps also attend a grief cafe in order to find strategies that work. Best of luck to you.

1 Like

Vicky,
as you have said, you for your Mum for 25 years and found her a place in a care home when she needed a team of carers to provide her with 24/7 care. Please do not feel guilty, but ask yourself what her quality of life would have been if she had survived such a devastating stroke. Instead she slipped away and is now at rest.

Now it’s time to be kind to yourself, to work through your grief and to adjust to a new routine.

Keep posting as others have gone through what you have and can support your through. adjusting to no longing caring

2 Likes

Thank you @bowlingbun and @Melly1