Unpaid leave entitlement?

Hi all, My name is Sue and I’m a carer for my elderly father who is sliding into confusion and forgetfulness. At present he is capable of living independently with me getting most shopping and purchases for him, i also have power of attorney so manage his finances and health care too. He cooks via a microwave and toaster and i join him three times a week after work for healthy meals and help around the house as much as possible, gardening and washing etc.
We pay for a cleaner, and a lady to come in and care for his legs and feet twice a month (he is diabetic and was not getting any foot care). He has attendance allowance for help with this.
I work full time in a hospital and am wondering if i am entitled to any unpaid leave to help him out. He is having a major plumbing job done on the house in a few months and i need to get him out for a week to have the work done. My issue is i don’t have enough holiday left to be with him all week and there is no one else that he could stay with?
I am not a paid carer as i have a full time job. I am not sure what help i can get with this? any ideas would be gratefully received please?

Hi Sue.

The following link will be of immediate assistance here :

Caring for someone while working | nidirect

__

Caring for someone while working.

If you’re working for an employer when you start your caring role, it’s important to tell them about your situation and your new responsibilities.

As a backup , union dues upto date ?

Hi Sue, a few questions and things to consider.
Has your Father had a Local authority needs assessment and ditto for you to have a care assessment.

Contact the social services department of your local authority to find out whether you’re eligible for funding.

If you have savings and assets of more than the amount in this table, you’ll have to pay for your own care:

Region Savings threshold for local authority funding in 2019/20
England £23,250