Social anxiety and speech impediment?

As stated in the title, I have a problem with my speech and I’m not sure if it’s related to anxiety. I have always struggled with social anxiety so I thought there might be a link. I’m in post-secondary education now and have completed my first year in Accounting & Finance. At first, I was scared because there are a lot of group projects and presentations, and with social anxiety, I am terrified of public speaking. I managed to give all 6 presentations without much problem, though I was unsatisfied with my performance on 2 of them (more on this later). My success with giving presentations did give me some confidence boost that public speaking is not as scary as I’ve imagined.

I am unhappy with my course however and have been contemplating changing to something else. Not because of anxiety but I have internship experience which made me realize that I won’t be happy with accounting as a future career. Previously, I graduated with a cert in accounting from a technical school with a required internship. Despite that, I chose to continue studying accounting & finance anyway because it’s easy admission. Hence, I want to change my course to gerontology, a social science field about the study of aging and the career prospects of working with older adults. I have a soft spot for old people, so I don’t feel anxious around them. My dream career is one that makes a difference in people’s lives and I have in mind two groups of people specifically that I would enjoy working with because of personal experience – special needs kids and old people. Since my education institution offers a gerontology diploma, I think it could be a really good opportunity for me to expose myself to this field and gain first-hand experience through a compulsory internship working with old people.