Open university

Hi everyone,

I’ve been caring for my mum since I was about 10 years old and I am now 25. Due to my caring responsibilities my education suffered and I left school with less than what I needed to get into uni and to be honest it wouldn’t have been the right time. I completely gave up on the uni path and went straight into full time work. I am able to balance my caring responsibilities with work and have recently started looking into an open university course. I don’t regret anything I’ve done or feel any sort of resentment,I just feel like I have missed out on something else that I’ve always wanted to do. I’m just venting :laughing: and wondering if anyone has had any experience with open university whilst caring/and working?

Hi Chelsea … welcome to the forum.

Studying ?

BE VERY WARY … The infamous 21 Hour Rule !

https://www.carersuk.org/forum/news-and-campaigns/campaigns-petitions/21-hour-rule-ca-eligibility-studying-developments-the-sole-thread-anywhere-dealing-with-this-abomination-29098?hilit=21%20hour

One of the very reasons I started that thread in the first place !

For the benefit of younger carers and carers whose caring roles are numbered,

In your case , not only the £ 123 weekly limit on earnings and still retaining Carers Allowance … now , the dreaded 21 Hour
Rule is thrown in the mix … even if it involves home study !

Good juggling act … £ 122.99 per week + Carers Allowance + 20 hours 59 minutes studying … the diffence 2p / 2 minutes can
make … at times ???

Others will be along to extend their welcomes and provide any guidance on the day to day caring matters.

Thanks for the reply, I can’t claim carers allowance due to working full time and over earnings threshold so I don’t need to worry about that it’s more for advice on balancing everything. :slight_smile:

In which , forget the 21 Hour Rule for now … will reappear should you elect to claim Carers Allowance in the future.