Hi everyone! (From an exhausted and stressed new member)

Hi, I’m a newbie to the forum,

I’m currently a 30 year old carer for my mother who has had stage 4 cancer for the past 4 years and also take on care responsibilities for my sister who has suspected Aspergers. Quite honestly it’s been a tough and exhausting few years as it’s taking a mental toll on me as I also have bipolar disorder and as my father isn’t as as skillful as myself when it comes to the finer care duties. Because of mistakes I’ve made in the past with not being able to be on top my mental illness (which affected my ability to study when I was in university) it does feel like my life is on hold but I do still have dreams and the belief that there is a light at the end of the tunnel and that I will feel a sense of freedom again (Because at times it does feel like I’m “trapped” in the situation I’m in). I stumbled across this forum as it seems like a place full of advice and knowledge plus I thought it would be great to hear the experiences of people that have faced similar caring responsibilities and problems that I also experience. Hopefully I’ll be able to be active and post in the boards I have personal experience in but wanted to say a quick hello before doing so. :slight_smile:

(Deleted)

__

Also, you could potentially try and pursue an online degree or something similar that would allow you to study whilst caring for your Mum.

Be wary of the 21 Hour Rule :
https://www.carersuk.org/forum/news-and-campaigns/campaigns-petitions/21-hour-rule-ca-eligibility-studying-developments-the-sole-thread-anywhere-dealing-with-this-abnomation-29098?hilit=21%20hour

Hey, nice to meet you.

Sorry to hear about your Mum’s cancer. Do you have any outside help? I know if your Mum is very unwell you may want to spend time with her. But you do also need to find time for yourself and I am sure your Mum would want this for you.