Not sure what to do - 21 and caring for mum

hello!!

i’ve spent the last hour reading through this forum and it’s so validating to hear people going though the same as me.

i’m 21, and my mum last june fell and unbeknownst to her broke her hip, was told by the doctors via 3 phone consultations it wasn’t broken and wasn’t worth an xray, fast forward and she developed a pressure sore, sepsis, blood clots, and has an inoperable broken hip until her wound has cleared.

my dad/her husband died in 2009, and I am an only child, with any other family either living far away or not available to help, therefore I am her sole carer. im a uni student who has taken the year off to help her as she is now bedbound by her hip and wound (VAC therapy). I know she will get better and back to before but I can’t cope anymore. she doesn’t like change so she didn’t have carers at ALL (meant to be coming 4x a day) until recently where she doesn’t mind them in for a few hours every so often whilst me and my bf go for a meal or something. she’s very traumatised and depressed and I really can’t take anymore responsibility for her mental health as mine is down the pan and I worry that i’ll say the wrong thing and make her worse. :frowning:( i want my life back so much, i used to be a typical social uni student and now I feel I can’t go anywhere and am on antidepressants

Niamh, welcome to the forum. What an awful situation.
The “bottom line” is that you are NOT responsible for your mum, who sounds like she is being very difficult indeed.
You must not become her slave, but need to get back to college in September knowing that she is well looked after without needing you all the time.
The NHS has seriously mucked up here, and they should be taking full responsibility for the current situation.
My husband died suddenly, on the lead up to his death the NHS had failed him miserably.