Newbie here

Hi guys i’m a newbie here but i’m a carer for my husband who has multiple disabilities just to name a few he has short and long term memory loss, asthma, learning disabilities and renal failure… We have a son together who also has a speech impairment, learning disabilities and possible autism…

Just thought i’d come by and say hi

Hi Sarah,
welcome to the forum. Sounds like your family keep you busy.

Do you get any outside support or does your hubby or son access any services/clubs?

Melly1

Hi Sarah,

You should be able to get lots of help from Social Services. Can I ask how old your husband and son are?
Have you made preparations for the time when your son will need to leave home?

Did you know that people with severe learning difficulties are exempt from Council Tax?

@Melly1:

Hi,

I don’t get any outside help I did use to et help from my husband’s mum but she passed away almost 5 years ago but since then I bearly get any help with my husband… As for my son I do get help from my son’s school and as of September he will be in a special needs school so will be getting help there…

@bowlingbun:

Hi

We are under social services but have yet to get a social worker as they keep messing us around but we are fighting it… My son is only 8 and my husband is 36… As my son is only 8 (just turned 8 in may) we are not looking that far ahead as of yet for when he leave’s home as we are just concerating on things now rather then later… As for council tax we do get the discount and we are only paying a little amount towards it but may look into it further

Just in case it’s needed , a mini bible on home care services … full sp :
https://www.carersuk.org/forum/support-and-advice/all-about-caring/home-care-services-a-guide-from-the-money-advice-service-web-site-37984

My son was brain damaged at birth, he is now 40. I didn’t realise your son was only eight.