Newbie and unsure how to use this forum

Hello.
I am new so not sure what to do on this forum

Hi Kas, welcome to the forum.
Most people find us when they are having a few issues theyā€™d like help or advice about, or they are feeling that no one else understands what it is like to be a long term carer.
In total, Iā€™ve had TEN family members who needed support in the last 40+ years, from new born to 87 years old. In amongst all this caring, not being able to work, Iā€™ve done rather a lot of unusual things I never planned to do. I studied for a degree in Business Studies when my sons (one brain damaged) were young, and somehow or other I became the nationā€™s expert on one type of lorry, although I had a Sierra and never worked out how to lift the bonnet!!!
Sadly, Iā€™m now widowed and disabled, and Iā€™ve had some pretty serious surgery too.
I now say Iā€™m a bit like the song "Six wheels on my wagonā€¦"only at times the last wheel felt like it was going to fall off!
Feel free to share whatever you want, you are among friends who understand here.

1 Like

Hello Kas and Welcome.

you can use the forum in almost any way you want or need. Ask questions, offer opinions, chip in with experience and advice or simply have a chat / gossip / MOAN. Roll Call thread can be a great place to vent and share views. No one judges and we often have a good laugh. Iā€™ve found it very helpful when caring for my husband, who had a stroke 2 years ago, starts to get too much as others rally round and help me realise things perhaps arenā€™t as bad as I thought.

As BB has said, you can share as much or as little as you feel comfortable with as it is anonymous. Weā€™ve got a wealth of experience and knowledge between us all and itā€™s great to be able to share and give back as well as getting the support which is available.

Hereā€™s looking forward to having you along for the ride.

1 Like