New to this forum as a carer for my wife

Hi there. My name is Kiffer, I have been caring for my wife since 2014 when she had 3 strokes in that year. She is also suffering from a memory problem.
Most days I can manage well, but some days I get very short tempered and tend to snap a bit.
I used to have a part time job which gave me some respite, but I had to give it up due to my wife’s health deteriorating.
I have joined this group hoping that there are people that can give me some advice!
Thanks for reading.

Kiffer

2 Likes

Hi Kiffer
Welcome! Heartfelt empathy to you & your wife. You’ll discover a wealth of advice and experience in this online community - and a lot of comic relief in the roll-call posts!

I started helping my Mum look after my Dad in 2015, and became the primary caregiver for my Dad when Mum was diagnosed with cancer. Dad had several transient ischaemic attacks; small strokes due to congestive heart failure, then cancer and he was diagnosed with vascular dementia, so I hope I can offer some food for thought that will help/resonate. I look after my Mum 24/7 since my Dad passed in 2020

We all have those days when we’re tired, run ragged, worrying and trying to be everything and still share our love but end up getting snappy and then feeling guilty about it and feeling worse and worse. Those negative cycles are grinding and wearisome. Pls remember you’re doing the best you can. We tend to forget that when our love has such high standards that we want to live up to. When I feel that wave of frustration and inner bad talk coming on, I leave the room and try to count to 10 and take deep breaths…I don’t always catch myself in time but when I do, I know it works well and I figuratively pat myself on the back…none of us are perfect, we are very human;-)

May I ask if there’s some specific advice or thoughts you’d like to share/vent/soundboard on?
Believe me there’s nothing too small or too big and no reason to hold back here!
warm wishes

2 Likes