New to forum.

Hi. I’ve never used a forum before so bear with me. Somehow I have managed to care for my husband for six months now after he suffered a massive stroke at the beginning of the year. He’s 78 and I’m 68. I just hate every single moment and haven’t had a break at all. I’ve just been told to go away in no uncertain terms and am sitting outside feeling lonely, depressed and miserable. I just wanted a moan to get it off my chest. I could go on for ages but not in the mood. Anyone out there who ever feels the same

Hello Edith. Welcome to the forum.
My late husband had a massive stroke after a Tia’s. Was such a shock, more because his personality changed in many ways.
He became verbally aggressive many times and accused me of all sorts. It wasn’t him, it was the stroke causing brain changes. Once I could come to terms with that it was easier in a way.
Have you been in touch with the stroke society?They can be very helpful.
Do you have any help, carers? Someone to give you a break?

Hi Pet66. Thanks for your reply. I have carers coming in 3 times a day who change my husband, he’s doubly incontinent but apart from that no other help. Friends have left the area and I’m just feeling sorry for myself. I guess I’ll get over it but it’s so hard.

Please stay on the forum. You can let off steam as much as you want. No one judges.
You are allowed to feel sorry for yourself. It’s a massive change in your life. You are important too. Need some me time to function. Do consider the stroke society. They will have advise for you.

Hello Edith

As Pet66 said the stroke changes the brain and not always for the better.
The stroke and frustration, anger and depression could be at play.
Removing yourself to the step for some air was a good move, or just to another room.
Doubly incontinent is a lot to deal with.

My mum has had several TIAs.