Memantine for mild Alzheimers

I was wondering what experiences people have had when AD sufferers have been prescribed Memantine?

My father has recently been prescribed Memantine. He was given a titration pack initially and is now on 20mg daily. I was wondering what side effects might be experienced as the drug builds up in the system. We have noticed increased apathy and withdrawal. The dementia nurse has said to be patient and wait and see if there is improvement over next 6wks or so.

I am just interested to hear comments. :smiley:

Hi Julie,
I have no experience of this medication, but didn’t like to leave your post unanswered. If you haven’t seen it already their is information here https://www.alzheimers.org.uk/about-dementia/treatments/drugs/effects-of-alzheimers-drugs

You might also get more personal responses on their forum https://www.alzheimers.org.uk/get-support/dementia-talking-point-our-online-community as it’s specific to those caring for someone with dementia.

Melly1

Thank you Melly! I will check this out xx

Hello @julie_2111

My wife was diagnosed with MCI over 5 years ago and the diagnosis changed to Dementia within about 9 months.

At the MCI stage my wife wasn’t prescribed anything apart from a change of meds for her underlying anxiety and depression. As soon as the diagnosis changed to dementia both Donepezil and Memantine were prescribed and she quickly seemed to be a bit ‘brighter’. The dementia has progressed at a slow rate over the last 4-5 years and there isn’t any way to tell if that pace of progression has been due to the meds.