Lasting power or attorney

Hi… I’m new to this forum and hoping that someone might be able to give some advice.

My dad had a severe stroke in March aged 58, leaving him with significant disability and what I believe to be fluctuating capacity (I’m a registered mental health nurse so fairly clued up on process for assessing this). My step mum is next of kin however she was unable to access any of dad’s affairs due to data protection/confidentiality etc. Therefore, she applied for lasting power of attorney for finances and health/welfare. She asked me and her daughter - dad’s step daughter - to act as replacements should anything happen to her and we both signed the paperwork together. I have a sister who lives in Spain and she has yesterday received paperwork staying that in fact my step mum and step sister have applied as joint attorneys with me as a replacement - my step mum became very cagey when my sister tried to discuss this with her and changed the subject. Firstly I’m upset that they have done this and changed the application without letting me know. Secondly, I don’t know about the legalities of my signing the paperwork as replacement if it was under ‘false pretence’ as it were and why wasn’t I informed by the solicitor of the joint application by them as my sister in Spain was? Thirdly, I genuinely believe my dad would not be happy with my step sister being joint attorney and not myself - she can be quite hot headed and impulsive and I don’t actually think she fully understands the process as I had to explain to her what we were signing and what it meant when I beleived we were both acting as replacements. I feel like I’m caught between a rock and a hard place as I do not want to cause any tensions or arguments in what is an already hugely stressful situation, however it all seems very final and this whole set up does not sit right with me - I don’t actually believe they would do anything not in dad’s best wishes but I’m obviously a bit anxious now that it