I feel useless at the moment

My best friend, the person I care for is fighting for his life in hospital at the moment and I feel so helpless as we wait…wait in the hope he will survive life threatening pneumonia but have been told to prepare for the worst. I have been caring for him for over 17 years. I am unable to sleep, feel run down and worn out but I am there in hospital everyday so I am there for him. I so want to help him, but I can’t because the care he needs is beyond my capabilities. We are all waiting right now in the hope he will pull through, but that hope is slim. He is so frail they have withdrawn all other options to try and save him except antibiotics, high powered oxygen and fluids.

My world has been completely turned upside down and I don’t know how I am going to cope if the worst happens. I have spent 17 years of my life dedicated to helping him.

Sorry for venting on here. I feel so lost without him here at home even though I see him everyday. He is so worn out and run down even after his 5 day course of IV antibiotics and all we have been told is we have to wait and see if they work.

I am out of tears, I have given up trying to sleep. I am trying to remain positive and focused on getting him better but feel I am fighting a losing battle. I don’t want the doctors to give up on him but feel they will be left with no choice.

Thank you for reading my post. I don’t expect any replies, but thanks anyway.

I’m so sorry for your situation.
At the moment there is nothing more you can do for your friend.
However if he pulls through he is going to need you more than ever before.
Currently you are a wreck.
Go and see your GP and get something to help you relax and sleep. Your body needs this.
My GP gave me Amitryptilene in a similar situation, it really helped.
If the worst happens, you will survive to live a different life.