Hi all, newbie here

Hello all, thank goodness I’ve found you.
I’m a 55yr old carer for my sister who has Autism with significant needs. I’ve been doing this for near on 20 years, since our parents passed away. They died within 18 months of each other.
It’s hard at times and really hard at others. I’ve got used to never putting myself first or looking after me and feel I only exist to care for her. I work full time and have a grown up daughter.
The one thing which really gets me down is my sister’s constant fear that something is going to happen to me. She always wants to know where I am. She never wants me to go anywhere without her for fear something bad will happen. She needs constant reassurance that everything is going to be ok. This in turn has made me not want to go anywhere and I feel guilty about even thinking of having time to myself.
I’m dealing with anxiety and depression purely caused by this situation.
Any one got a magic wand to make all this better… please.

3 Likes

How much support does she have from Social Services?
Plans for when you cannot care for her any longer?

2 Likes

Been through adult services and she’s not comfortable with anyone new going in to see her.
I know I need to get something in place regarding the future and will be talking to my daughter about it. We have a joint LPA re finance and medical for my sister.
I am looking for any tips about the fearful thoughts my sister has about me.

2 Likes

Has she had a Needs Assessment, and have you had a Carers Assessment? Does she never ever do anything without you? Social Services should have been supporting her since she became an adult.

2 Likes

Hi @Bunny28
Big hug! Welcome to the forum. Really happy to see you here.

Hi I’ve Victoria! when you get a moment check out roll Call https://forum.carersuk.org/t/roll-call-august-2024/125468?u=victoria_1806