Hello - new joiner looking for advice please

Hello everyone. I’m a newbie here, I’m having a bit of a situation and I’m not sure what my options are. Can anyone help me out please ?

Here’s the background. A year or so ago, I moved back to the family home to help mum and dad with their care. Both parents are in their early eighties and getting increasingly dependent. Thankfully they are still fairly clear-minded but they are both very frail and have limited mobility (mum has severe arthritis and uses a walking frame, dad is in a wheelchair). Dad was recently diagnosed with cancer and probably has a year or so to live.

We have paid carers in the morning and evening to help them with dressing and washing, while I do the meals and cleaning and laundry etc. So far this arrangement has worked well although there have definitely been some ups and downs.

The problem is that dad has been losing arm strength and can no longer get himself out of the wheelchair safely. This is difficult because he’s a very early riser and likes to get out of bed before the carers arrive. So for the past few weeks I have been waking early to lift him out of bed (or maybe “drag” is a better word, as despite being very thin he’s still as heavy as a sack of potatoes).

This routine has been starting to grind me down a bit. I know it doesn’t sound like a lot but I’m a night owl and, for me, having to wake at 6am is practically the middle of the night. I’m getting increasingly tired and irritable as this goes on. Plus of course i’m worried about hurting him every time I have to do this.

The problem as I understand it is that carers aren’t allowed to actually lift people, so even if we got an earlier visit I don’t think that would help (please correct me if i’m wrong here, that’s what people have told me).