Hello -from a new member

Hello, I am new to this.

I am single, no kids. My parents are currently able bodied but they have had some health issues in the past.

They are in their 70s. I help out with the electronical work - enails, filling in online forms, general, fr their Air Bn B. I help out with the housework. We are all getting older and I worry when the day comes where all the responsibility will be left on my shoulders.

I am struggling with the isolation, general stuff. I know I should consider myself very lucky as there are 24 hours carers put there with bigger problems than myself. I wish to reach out and chat. Take my mind off things. Love to make some online friends.
Love laugh - simple things that keep us going on each day.

Thanks fr reading this

5 Likes

HI @Cuidador Welcome to the forum. Nice that you have found us.

Youā€™ll find we are (mostly) a very friendly bunch (but watch out if I have a bad day :innocent:) we all have different experiences and different pressures, but one thing we have in common is that we all KNOW what it is like to be a Carer; the stresses and strains it has on our lives and relationships and our (lack of?) social life.

You will find a wealth of information and advice on the CUK website and the Forum is where you can tap into personal experiences and check-in for advice and also a chat (ā€œover the garden fenceā€ is one expression oft used to describe ā€œRoll Callā€ thread which is started anew each month. There you can have a chat, gossip, moan, rant - or whatever you need at the time. Remember we ALL have off days and days which we feel we cannot cope with. A moan or chat with those who wonā€™t judge, criticise of patronise can be a help at times like that. You can share as much or as little as you are comfortable with and you are in control of that at all times.