Feel like a rubbish carer

Hello everyone

I’ve been working as a carer for 5 years, doing mainky care for elderly. I’ve recently moved into a new area and a new job where I am doing complex care. Their packages are mainly children with different issues as well as elderly too.

I am currently a carer for a young boy 2 nights a week. He is now 3 and will be soon attending school. Usually he will be asleep before the start of shift at 22.00 and usually wakes up at around 5am. The issue at the minute is as soon as he wakes up he likes to play on his tablet and/or play with toys, so it can be difficult to keep him quiet at such an early hour as hes too awake to go back to sleep.

Starting from last week his mother has requested we try and keep him asleep until 6.30 at the latest so he can get into a routine for when he starts going to school.

It has been difficult for me as he does cry a lot when he wakes up wanting his tablet, and he refuses to sleep no matter how much I try to comfort him and try and get him to sleep. This morning he had a very bad crying episode wanting his tablet at 6am and his Mum came down to help calm him down as I couldn’t calm him. He eventually did calm down when his Mum gave him his tablet and he calmed down after working himself up.

I’ve left the shift feeling really bad that I couldn’t calm him down myself and his Mum had to wake up earlier than usual to help calm him down. This is my first time being a carer for a child, so its brand new to me as I dont have kids of my own. I’m probably just being silly but I feel like a rubbish carer from it.

Hello Jennifer

I’m sorry to hear of the problems with the child you care for but Carers UK is a charity that was set up to support and advise those caring for relatives and/or friends in an unpaid, non-professional capacity - likewise forum members provide, in the main, peer support to others in similar situations.