End of life

Hi all,
My mother had a brain haemorrhage 8 years ago, long story but owing to my ill health she ended up in care. She now has vascular dementia amongst other things,
She has deteriorated massively this year and over Christmas she has had pneumonia and another small bleed. The home she is in is a residential Care home that takes dementia patients - I think the care is ok but I’m not sure it’s enough as I’m saddened to say I think she’s approaching the end of her life. I’m not a doctor but she is detiorsting before my eyes, not eating or drinking and has now come out in a massive awful rash.
Who makes the decision she is approaching end of life and if that is the case should she have a different level of care, she seems agitated she’s itching and not comfortable, I’m not happy with the situation and have come home tonight with this weighing heavy on my mind. Obviously being a weekend I’m limited as to what can be done but has anyone been in this awfully sad harrowing situation please,
Thank you

Hi Worrywart.

__

Who makes the decision she is approaching end of life and if that is the case should she have a different level of care, she seems agitated she’s itching and not comfortable,

Try as I have done , no definite answer as to " Who " that jumps out at you from an Internet search.

The most obvious candidates will be the patient’s gp or , if a regular NHS hospital patient , a consultant.

I assume regular check ups from whichever doctor visits the nursing / care home ?

For a general guide , the NHS web site :

What end of life care involves - NHS

A little more meat when one looks at palliative care :

What is palliative care?

CHC / NHS Continuing Healthcare ?

Possibly.

Question that arises … should CHC have been considered earlier ?

Was an application ever made ?

Even mentioned by the gp / hospital / nurse at care home ?

Not a definite answer … I hope enough to provide some assistance at this difficult time.