Claiming Carers Allowance while registered self employed

Hello

I am new to this so please accept my appologies if I sound a little confused.

I am registered as self employed but I am not earning and have zero income and I live at home with my parents and I an using my self employment status with HMRC to be able to voluntery pay my national insurance class 2 voluntary each year with my self assessment to go towards my state pension. I am caring full time for my brother who is disabled and he has just been awarded PIP after a long time of being disabled and this includes the daily living compenent so this would enable me to claim carers allowance as his full time carer. I am looking to end my self employment because I want to be his full time carer and I will not need to voluntary pay my class 2 national insurance on my self assessment returns because Carers Allowance pay Class 1 national insurance.

When I sign up for carers allowance I would still be registered and classed as self employed even though I am not earning any money. My question is how do I show that I have not been earning an income from my self employment status. I do not have an accountant or a business account only a standard current bank account.

I do not have any business accounts because I have not been working or earning.

I have looked on the Paper application form for carers allowance and it says do not send tax return as proof.

Would it be adviseable to end my self employment before I start my carers allowance claim or after because I would need to inform them after I have been acceptetd that I have stopped my self employment if I end it after my application and acceptance.