Caree rejects respite care

I have been contributing to this forum for a few years, and have been grateful for occasional helpful advice I have received regarding my own family problems. I feel prompted to submit this following Kate1’s topic, “First time posting and new here”. (Link follows.)

First time posting and new here

Kate1’s caree told social workers that she did not want carers coming in, and Kate was not consulted. Melly1 commented:

My position is somewhat similar. We have registered with a scheme that provides emergency care in the event that I have an accident or illness or am unable to care for some similar reason. This care however lasts for only three days.

I want to extend this and register with a respite caring service, for when I am away for reasons other than accident or illness. My relatives have suggested that to have carers coming in during periods when I am away could help to build up a relationship between the caring service and my caree. So if an emergency were to arise she would be dealing with familiar people, beyond the three days provided by the emergency service.

My caree resists this idea. She comes up with various objections. One is that she is worried about security. She thinks that carers may be married to crooks, who would then have access to our house. I don’t feel that I can take these fears too seriously, and wonder if there is some underlying reason that she feels unable to talk about. Kate1 suggested privacy. Do others have ideas?

I don’t think I ask for much in terms of time away. There are two events a year that I particularly like to attend. These each entail two or three nights away from home.