Can't cope with adult daughter's behaviour (long post)

In a couple of weeks’ time I shall be 73. Over the last 18 months I have lost both my sister and my husband. I had been caring for my husband for around 8 years and for the last year of his life he was bed bound. He was very controlling and demanding and I found caring for him quite difficult. But we had been married for 48 years and I do miss him. And I never thought I could miss anyone as much as I miss my sister.

I have 2 adult children who both live with me – Philippa who is 46 and Ian who is 43. Neither of them can afford to move out, although they have both lived away from home in the past. Ian does have a job but it’s only a 15 hour contract, although he is looking for something more lucrative. Unfortunately, Philippa is unemployed for most of the year. Her interest is stage management and she usually succeeds in getting employment as a stage manager for a pantomime for about 5 weeks around Christmas. However, this never leads to anything more permanent. She does apply for other theatre jobs but the nature of the work means that there is very rarely anything permanent and she has only ever had a couple of other temporary jobs. She has previously worked in retail and worked her way up to department manager and duty manager in a supermarket, but it all fell apart when she was continually late for work and failed to carry out some of her duties.