Banks and LPA

I have been caring for my now 98 yo grandmother for the last 7 years, however she has recently moved into a carehome and was deemed by social worker to not have capacity. I am LPA for finances and also for health, and I have these on record with her bank for many years.
I recently attended the Bank to say that she is now permanently residing in care home to update her address to c/o my own home address and whilst I was there I said she no longer has capacity so could you cancel her bank card. In actuality she has not had her bank card for a couple of years as with her dementia she had started mislaying things and she furthermore was unable to leave her property without me. I have kept her bank card in my possession but I have my own lpa bank card for her account so I was able to pay for her food shopping etc.
Anyway I asked for her bank card to be cancelled as she no longer has capacity. I was told by the bank worker, who checked with some other department of the bank via email, that they couldn’t do this and that because she now no longer has capacity that I would have to reapply for a new power of attorney.
I responded that I didn’t believe this was the case and that I thought you could not get LPA once you have lost mental capacity. The bank worker told me in no uncertain terms that you can get LPA after losing mental capacity.

Can anyone clarify their understanding of LPA. I feel that this cannot be right, as what is the point of my nan putting an LPA in place whilst she did have capacity? Surely the point is that you put them in place prior to losing capacity so that someone is appointed to make decisions on your behalf.