As a carer/companion is it ok to not talk for long periods?

Hi, i’m new to caring and new to the forum. I’m looking afer a family friend who has been brought out of a care home. She is 89 and has dementia. We are together most days for about half a day and usually go out in the car and for a very short walk. This is enjoyable for both of us and although we don’t talk much it’s obviousl that this gives her great pleasure. My problem is how to behave when we are at home when she just sits and stares. She was never one for small talk and is not toughy feely, and obviuosly conversation is limted to tea/coffee, sometimes going through old photos etc but in between there are long periods of time with nothing … no talking … no communicaiton … she seems content. I do my jigsaw puzzle in the living room and she just sits and stares - Is this normal? Accpetable? I feel guilty for not doing anything and of course they are paying me. Any advice would be apprecaited.

I would call this companiable silence. I have had some grim operations, and found the post op days easier if I really concentrated on happy past experiences, with my eyes closed, but not asleep. I missed out sometimes as staff thought I was! I would like to think that your carer was also lost in her thoughts and memories, especially if her body language is relaxed. There is nothing worse than someone rabbiting on about nothing!!!

Hi Emma and welcome. I think you’re giving your caree an enjoyable, interesting day. When you return from the walk she maybe thinking about all the things she saw and heard during the walk such as the fresh air on her face, seeing the green fields and trees and hearing the birds chirping etc. So she may need a bit of ‘quiet’ time just to sit and think about her outing.