31 and I already feel like I've destroyed my career.

Basically the title says it all, I’ve been caring for a disabled family member for the past 5 years. Given that I don’t own a place of my own, I’m essentially their live in carer and can only find work within walking distance from said house.

I’ve managed to find work in the past in between caring duties but inevitably over time I just collapse from exhaustion from multitasking both of them. For example recently I was working a position at a supermarket and would occasionally have situations where I’d finish at 9pm spend 30 minutes walking home, sorting out tablets, grabbing something to eat and washing up and having a shower before going to bed, only to wake up the next day and have breakfast and lunch sorted so I could walk 30 minutes to start work at 6am, getting a grand total of 4 hours sleep maximum for an incredibly physical job.

I just don’t know what to do. I’m chained to this house because without it I’m homeless but at the same time the location is really destroying all job opportunities. It doesn’t help that I cannot drive and there’s physically no room in the entire street for another car so I wouldn’t even be able to store it anywhere.

It just feels like I’m just going to keep doing this until she dies and I’ll be left penniless and homeless, meanwhile I have job interviews and see employers just roll their eyes whenever I mention that I’m a carer because of the stigma of people abusing carers allowance to just play video games all day.

Can you tell us a bit more about who you are caring for, age, disability, and who owns the home?
We should be able to find a few ideas to consider.
Your shifts sound dangerously long.