Resentment and exhaustion caring for my Grandmother

Hi,

I’ve been caring for my 94 year old Grandmother for over two years now. Her health has been progressively getting worse and it has become harder for me to cope.

I believe deep down I care about my Grandmother but she never was an easy person to love, she’s always been cold was never very nice to my Dad and thinks Adolf Hitler was basically a good person. She also tried to murder my Grandad if that gives you some idea…

Anyway perhaps I am writing this to try and justify my feelings but in reality I know deep down that I don’t love her and I am entirely fed up with caring for her. I am 28 now and I feel like I am wasting the best years of my life, fortunately my family are generous and are paying me more on top of my carers allowance and I am completing an access to university course while I am doing this, which has been difficult as my Grandmother can be very demanding and there are days where I get little time to myself.

To top it off I have been very lonely, especially with the covid lockdowns. I am been unable to see friends or pursue any kind of romantic relationship. This has left me frustrated and depressed. My Grandmother gets infections a lot which basically makes her go demented, when this happens she throws things such as her drinks. She bangs her table and shouts and she can say unpleasant things.

As her health worsened I’ve been fortuitous to get some support from the NHS in the form of daily visits from carers who are helping me with personal care since my Grandmother has now lost almost all mobility below her waist and I was beginning to get a bad back.