New on here

Hello
My partner was diagnosed with huntington’s disease a few years ago. Earlier this year I gave up working to be her full time carer.
I am having much difficulty accepting what is happening, suffering with depression and anxiety.
I am getting some support but I am impatient and it’s so hard dealing with isolation and lack of motivation.
I know the sort of things that would help but am currently at a loss as to how to put them in place. I/we have no friends in our local area.
Thanks for listening. I am new to this type of forum and do feel really scared

Hi Jim,
There’s nothing to be scared about, we don’t bite! We are all carers, here to support each other and share experiences.

Has your partner had a Needs Assessment from Social Services, and you, a Carers Assessment?
Are you claiming all the benefits you are entitled to, PIP, both care and mobility?
Do you get time to go out on your own at all, this is so important. If your partner has a Lifeline pendant alarm from the council, she will be able to summon help when you are out, a huge help.
Is the house adapted to meet her needs? If not, ask Social Services to arrange an Occupational Therapy Assessment.

I’m not in the least surprised you have depression - it is a fearful diagnosis indeed. Were you aware she came from a Huntingdon’s family? If so, then at least you have known of the ‘possibility’ from the off (and it is a FEARSOME disease because the genetic odds are that you DO have it, not that you DON’T…)

(Speaking of which, do you/she have children??)

I do hope you are in touch with the various support groups for Huntingdon’s families, and for their partners??? You will get far more ‘targetted’ response there, ie, everyone will know what you and your partner are going through.