Inevitable Argument

Hi All,

Well, this weekend, the inevitable explosion happened. I’ve been caring for my Gran for 9 months or so now, as she has slowly deteriorated with Foot Drop. She’s effectively been housebound and can barely take a few steps without severe distress, pain and anxiety.
I am working full-time so I am trying my best to get food for her, clean up around her house, empty her bins and take her to medical appointments, whilst also trying to maintain my relationship with her and also trying to find the best route to try and diagnose (and eventually, hopefully, treat) the underlying cause of her condition.
As many of you know, it’s absolutely exhausting trying to maintain two households, especially whilst trying to do your best at work as well.
Friday evening, my Gran told me that the latest test results came back clear (i.e. no indication as to where the problem is coming from). This news made her feel very low in herself, so I decided to go to her house to discuss our next options (i.e. walk-in centre, A&E, change of doctors (as her doctor appears to have no clue what he’s doing)).
I was met with an absolute outburst of frustration, including being told the following things “you’re rubbish at shopping for me, you’re terrible at housework, you’re a snob and all you care about is money”. Now, firstly, I am aware that this was an outburst that mainly stemmed from general frustration. However, it didn’t make this all hurt any less for me. I shop at my nearest supermarket because it’s on my way home after work (my Gran is used to going to markets and discount stores for her food shopping- these simply aren’t open by the time I finish work). The housework comment was because I don’t just wade in to her house and take over- I ask ‘do you need anything doing?’ and she says no; she really means yes, but she doesn’t tell me and I’m not a mind reader (can anyone relate to this?)