I’m a struggling Newbie here

Hi Everyone,

It’s been lovely to find this forum. I’ve been on others and left me feeling a bit lost. But I’ve been reading some of your posts and I think your all amazing and up front and honest.

I’ve been able to relate to most things being said as for the last few months all of sudden from nowhere I’ve been having overwhelming feelings of utter dislike, resentment, guilt towards my dad who has terminal cancer. It’s been a massive relief I now know this is normal and I’m not a monster.

I’ve been in this role approx 10 years when my mum died suddenly of cancer. 10 years on its now my dads turn and I’ve feelings of anger as a lifetime of smoking and boozing has done it to them both and now I’m picking up the pieces. This is the start of the resentment that won’t go away. I was there today cleaning shopping and All the rest of it and all I wanted to do was leg it. I feel terrible even writing this down :cry: There is no other family or anything and no one else I know that has been in this situation so not really anyone to share my thoughts with. It’s Just me my dad and cancer for the forseable :confounded:

Fast forward 10 years I’m now riddled with anxiety and about to start popping the mind bending pills that hopefully will numb everything and soon starting a new part time job that I’ve no idea how I can manage as I’ve no idea what’s coming or if I’ll even be able to keep plates spinning. Not really sure who I am anymore.

Anyway feeling a bit queasy now I’m reading all this in black and white but I’ll be popping in quite a lot as you all have so much experience and hoping to make connections a long the way.

Louby Xx

Hi Louby, quite honestly, I’m wondering how you are “still standing”.
My advice would be to stop trying to be Superwoman, and start yelling Help!

If you’ve read the forum before, you probably know what I’m going to ask already.
How old is dad?
How advanced is dad’s cancer?
Is he claiming any disability benefits?