How to set boundaries

Hi,

I’m sorry I always seem to have questions and no answers.

I’ve been helping my dad care for my mum for about 3 years. I stay over one night a week so my dad can get a full nights sleep. I also go on Mondays for 4 hours so dad can go to a club and another 4 hours on a Friday. I also call in most days, and when I do I wash mum, put a clean nighty on, put her creams on, give her food etc. Generally I go every day apart from Saturday.

I’m married, have 3 children and work as well. I also like to do a particular sport.

My dad wants me there every day, which is fine, but I can’t go the amount he wants. He accuses me of “gallavanting” and every time I’m meeting friends I get a text and my husband gets phone calls demanding to know where I am and that I have to go there to wash mam. Inbetween me leaving today and getting the text they would have had a 1 hour carer visit for my mum.

Today, I was there for 4 hours this morning. I let it slip by mistake that I was meeting a friend this afternoon. I could have predicted what would happen as I had a text (which I hadn’t read as I don’t look at my phone when I’m out with friends). When I did not respond to his text, dad rang my husband who said he sounded quite rude and wanted to know where I was. As it happens, my husband knew who I was with but not where. So could not get in touch. I go out with my husband twice a year and everytime I get a text saying my mum is dying and ot go there as soon as possible. This has gone on for around 10 years.