How do you cope with the guilt of resenting the constant criticism from the person you care for?

Hi. I’m new the to the group. I’ve been caring for my spouse for about 15 years. She has a number of mental health issues, and her physical health isn’t great either. This Christmas has been especially hard to cope with. I work full time, do the housework and try my best to care for my spouse, but I know I don’t always get it right all the time. I guess I’m just feeling sorry for myself because I’m struggling to cope with the near constant criticism. I know I’m the only person she can take it out on, and she isn’t feeling well at the mo, but it still hurts. Any suggestions on how to cope with the guilt? I can’t be the only person to resent it from time to time.

4 Likes

Hello @Andria and welcome to the Forum where you will find a warm welcome from everyone because we know what you are going through.

<y Dad lived with us for about three months as he started with dementia and that was a very hard time as he criticised EVERYTHING I did - preparing food he specifically asked for and then having him saying I was not giving him what he wanted and why couldn’t he have what we were eating… That was a mild comment. Eventually I couldn’t cope as I was working full time as well and we ended up having a massive row and he went to a relative - til that went sour too!! Then a Care Home and he complained about that too!

The resentment I felt still hurts me as previously we’d had such an amazingly close relationship.