Hello to everyone

At the beginning I would like say that English is not my first language and I’m still learning🙂 I have found your forum really useful. I’m a career to my son because of his genetic metabolic disorder and epilepsy, he is 7. Also have 11 years old daughter who is a gymnast taking part in a many competitions around the UK ( I’m travelling with her). My husband is working away and is available only on Saturdays. My father in law,75, is living with us in our 3 bed ( in small box room), we are sleeping in living room. One week ago he had a stroke which left him paralysed on his right leg and hand, lost his speech completely, with double incontinence. As we are very new and fresh to this I would like to get as much info as I can. He is right now in rehabilitation unit, no one is able to tell me how long he is going to stay there, and also what is going to happen next. Already found info about safe discharge, care plan etc… but I’m so busy with my kids now I cannot imagine to take full care of him, without any help, and also this room he lived before is too small for such a big disabilities. He doesn’t have any savings, only receiving pension. I just wonder if I should start speaking with hospital now about our situation, or wait until they say about discharge. My son condition is so demanding and his treatment can be different on each day, depending on his weekly blood test results, I am in constant stress, without any help and scared that I will be his only career because we haven’t got any relatives here and my husband is away for most of the time. Any advice? good word? Don’t know what to do.

Tell the hospital as soon as possible that he CANNOT come home to you as you are already a full time carer for your son. Just keep using the same phrase repeatedly.