First post

Hello.
My name is Denise and I am fairly new to caring. My Husband has an Hypoxic brain injury and his short term memory is extremely poor.
After being in hospital for three and a half months he is now home and I am loving him being at home but totally exhausted with dealing with his inability to remember.
It affects every area of our life.
It is not all bad but hard as it it not safe for him to be left alone. We are joined at the hip so to speak.

Hello Denise and welcome
Are you dealing with this all on your own? Was he not discharged with a Care Plan in place?

Kr
MrsA

Also
Have you discovered Headway?

Very good info on support

Off to bed now…night

No he was discharged fairy quickly.
Mobility is not too much of an issue thankfully. So nothing to sort out with that.
He was supposed to be getting more occupational therapy at home to help with orientation but not heard anything yet.
I have phoned the carers hub and a lady came to see me and she told me to ring social services for an assessment which I have done and now waiting to hear off them.
Yes I have been in contact with Headway and they have given me a lot of support. especially in the early days when my emotions were all over the place.

Denise hi - are you entitled to anyone coming in to be with your husband to give you ‘time off’ at all? It may depend on your financial situation as a couple however.

Disgraceful that he was packed off home as he was out of hospital! Hospitals know perfectly well there MUST be a care plan in place before a discharge, or it is an UNSAFE DISCHARGE which they are NOT allowed to do. They count on patients and their families not knowing this, and basically just ‘chucking them out’ to get the bed back.