Fast Track Discharge

Feedback please….
My father is back in hospital (sadly) having suffered another major UTI (and sepsis, as well as a chest infection.) However, on speaking to the doctors today for an update, they are ‘preparing for all eventualities’ including a rapid decline if he doesn’t rally in the next 48 hours. (Kidneys damaged from retention and also his cancer is spreading rapidly.) They asked if I knew my fathers wishes should he not recover well and it would be necessary to put in place a palliative care package for him.
There was a mention of a Fast Track discharge….
I asked the doc to explain it to me at least twice as it is all gobble de gook to me and this is my first time round with all of this. Also I don’t trust the Social Services after my previous experience in the summer when my father was discharged home incorrectly IMO… (I.e without adequate care in place for him, although I took up the role and have been his full time carer since July.) But… this is the next level and I know it is beyond my capabilities…
My concern is I know nothing about this fast tracking apart from what I have read quickly on an internet search and a few posts here about this…
I am guessing much of it has to do with funding too…
He has over £23,000 savings, so I am thinking we will have to privately fund?
But IF he needs continuing care? A friend, (who has been through this with her mother in recent times) said that this is state funded and not means tested.
I don’t want to make the wrong decision and am looking for a bit of guidance.
(We also talked about the local hospice where I know my father would consider going, he gives a donation each month, but I think his wishes are to return home with adequate care in place and not to a nursing home, if he is not quite at the final stages.)
So many decisions to make!

Hi,