Carers allowance yes or no?

Hi its my first time and quite a complicated situation, I am long term disabled with lots of health conditions, my husband is my carer and receives carers allowance.
Our adult daughter receives pip and esa as she is autistic and has adhd. My husband does all the physical care for the both of us but I do everything to do with the mental /emotional side of her care.
We were advised for me to apply for carers allowance by the adult autism team, which I have now done so.
However after reading some articles I see that if I am awarded carers allowance a few things may happen…
1 my daughter will lose part of her ESA
2 we will lose part/some of our income support
Does anyone know if this is correct and would it then be better for me to cancel the claim I started only a few days ago for carers allowance. Life is hard enough I don’t want to be worse off.
Thanks in advance for any advice, Sue

Hi Sue … welcome to the canteen.

Nos. 1 & 2 confirmed … there is an adverse knock on effect … technical term , " Overlapping benefits " …
even if they are dissimilar !

Yep , sounds about right … give to the left hand , take back with the right hand.

First step , an online benefits calculator … great for " What if " scenarios … as you have so described.

https://www.entitledto.co.uk

That will reveal the effect on benefits claimed if carers allowance enters the equation.

With a bit of tinkering , should reveal which combination produces the best return.

Also , handy to check whether all benefits / allowances out there are currently being claimed.

Universal Credit … rolled out on your manor ?

https://ucpostcode.entitledto.co.uk/ucdate

If not , that’s one bullet dodged !

Have a tinker with the numbers and then return to us with any observations / questions.

Based on those , we might have some realistic suggestions as to how to maximise the total family income.