91 year old dad. Tough decision

My dad is 91 and has lived with us for 17 years. Since contracting covid in hospital during the first wave his mobility has had a steady decline as has his memory.
I have been battling for the last 5 months to get a memory test.
Recently he had his 4th uti this year and became delusional. We had been up with him for 23 hours having called the gp during the day due to him being delusional who said they would send someone to take a blood test. No one came. At 11pm i called 111 who said they would send paramedics. 5 hours later they arrived a discussion ensued abouth whether they would take him to hospital eventually they agreed. We where exhausted and he was unsafe due to lack of mobility, delusional state and stairs.

My husband who cares for him alone when i am at work and now cannot lift him if he falls stated he couldn’t do this anymore and proceeded to advise our social worker of such on the monday morning. So on dads release from hospital he has been taken to a care home for a 4 week needs assessment.

His delusions are better but then they do have him on anti psychotic drugs.

I have gone along with everyone and looked at some care homes. We are not rich so a top up would be difficult for us therefore we have to wait and see what dad is offered. Some of the care homes we have looked at have been truly awful.

What are my options. I cry a lot because i feel i am letting my dad down. Can anyone help with advice please

You have to be realistic. Dad’s dementia isn’t going to improve, you aren’t getting younger, and neither of you should be picking dad up. You have done brilliantly, but now dad needs a team of carers, as his needs are so high.

Has he had an NHS Continuing Healthcare assessment yet, if you don’t know, ask.