Hi, I'm a newbie!

Hello everyone!

It’s good to be here.

I used to be a member after my husband had a stroke several years ago, and now feel the need to come back and be with people who understand how things can be as a carer.

My husband did not have many lasting physical changes from the stroke, but changed mentally quite a lot.

He has Ankolysing spondylitis and has had two serious spine operations in the last two years, and we are just waiting for the third (most serious) in September/October.

In addition he has serious lung problems, with asthma and bronchiectasis, and has daily inhaled antibiotics along with a shed load of other drugs.

He only needs occasional personal care. I have responsibility for everything to do with our lives; home, finances, medical appointments, our three dogs etc., and I work part-time too.

Recently I’ve started to struggle with feeling overwhelmed with it all, so decided to come back here as it was such a huge help in the months after his stroke.

I look forward to ‘meeting’ you all!

Hi GardenGirl,

welcome back. What was your username before?

How long will he need to be in hospital for with his third operation? Is this the last operation he should need?

I have responsibility for everything to do with our lives; home, finances, medical appointments, our three dogs etc., and I work part-time too.

Oh yes, substitute ‘cat’ for ‘three dogs’ and I know how you feel. It’s emotionally draining having responsibility for everything.

Melly1

Hi Melly1,

I don’t remember my username before, but I also used to attend a group and used the Carer Support centre near me.

We now live abroad where things are very different!

Hopefully it will be the last, but last time he had to leave hospital early because of Covid and had months and months of post-op wound infections, right the way through lockdown, so I’m hoping things don’t get worse again before this one.