Care home fees

Hi please help, I’m new to this and really confused. My mum may need permanent residential care. Before you read on, I’d like to clarify my mum has below the £14,250 in savings and doesn’t own a home and has no assets.

There is a home I spoke to yesterday that may be good for her. I asked how much they were a week. They said £900.

I told the social worker this. She said I needed to ask them what their local authority rate is and there band is. I said I think it might be a band 5 and she said the council would pay £575 for a band 5 home.

The home said: we are banded at band 5 which is £667 The top up would amount to £233 per week.

I really don’t understand… I thought that if the council pay £575, the shortfall to pay would be £92 to make it up to the £667.

Is this not right? Is the home really expensive and are they asking for the £667 and the £233 every week irregardless of my mum needing council funding?

What isn’t included in a financial assessment for residential care?
Among other things, the following won’t be included:

Personal possessions, although see also gifting assets & property
Surrender value of life insurance policies, annuities
Investment bonds with a life assurance element
Payment derived from certain trusts
Winter Fuel Payment and any other Social Fund payments
Christmas Bonus
Gallantry awards
Personal Independence Payment (PIP) mobility component and mobility supplement.

Hi thanks, I’ve read through these before just not sure it’s answered my question :confused:

From the web site

The table below shows the thresholds used by local authorities in the UK to decide who is eligible for financial support (2020-21).

Self-funders: if your savings and assets are worth more than the upper limit, you will be a self-funder; in other words, you’ll have to pay for your own care.
Partial support: you may qualify for partial support if your savings and assets fall between the lower and upper thresholds (excluding Wales).